This page has links to encyclopedia entries and topic page articles in the library's online reference collection, Credo Reference. If you can't find what you're looking for on this page, try a search below.
From Dictionary of World Philosophy From the Latin anima, i.e. soul, the term animism in general denotes the belief that things such as pebbles, rivers, planet Earth, and, some would say, the entire universe are animated or at least embody a life-principle.
Religion and philosophy founded in India c.525 B.C. by Siddhartha Gautama, called the Buddha. There are over 300 million Buddhists worldwide. One of the great world religions, it is divided into two main schools: the Theravada or Hinayana in Sri Lanka and SE Asia, and the Mahayana in China, Mongolia, Korea, and Japan. A third school, the Vajrayana, has a long tradition in Tibet and Japan.
Questions of right and wrong considered according to Buddhism. Buddhist beliefs are governed by the Four Noble Truths, the Eightfold Path, and the Five Moral Precepts.
From Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary Held in Tokyo at the Hié Shrine, the Sanno Matsuri is held every two years, alternating with the Kanda Matsuri at the Kanda Shrine.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia Ancient native religion of Japan still practiced in a form modified by the influence of Buddhism and Confucianism. In its present form Shinto is characterized less by religious doctrine or belief than by the observance of popular festivals and traditional ceremonies and customs, many involving pilgrimages to shrines.
From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Foremost Shintō shrine in Japan, at Ise, in southern Honshu. The Inner Shrine (traditionally founded 4 BC) is dedicated to the sun goddess Amaterasu.
Jap. Nihon or Nippon, country (2005 est. pop. 127,417,000), 145,833 sq mi (377,835 sq km), occupying an archipelago off the coast of E Asia. The capital is Tokyo, which, along with neighboring Yokohama, forms the world's most populous metropolitan region.
Place regarded as holy due to an association with a divine figure, relic, or event. Shrines are important places in most religions, and are often a focus of worship or meditation.
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia Ancient name of Japan and particularly the province of western Honshu where Japanese civilization began and where the early capitals were located; also the clan from which all emperors of Japan are descended, claiming the sun-goddess as ancestor.
From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth Amaterasu's birth. Amaterasu, goddess of the Sun in Japanese myth, was Izanagi's daughter (see Izanami and Izanagi).
From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth Susano, the storm-god in Japanese myth, was born from the water-drops when Izanagi washed his nose to rid himself of the pollution of the Underworld.
From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth Tsukuyomi ('moon-counter') or Tsukiyomi ('moon-bow'), in Japanese myth, was created from the water-drops which fell from Izanagi's right eye when he washed himself after visiting Yomi, the Underworld.
From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth The beginning of Creation. Izanami ('she who invites') and Izanagi ('he who invites'), in Japanese myth, were the last pair of deities to grow on Umashiashikabihikoji the celestial reed at the beginning of the universe.
From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth Okuninushi ('earth-ruler'), in Japanese myth, was the god of healing and sorcery; in some accounts he was one of Susano's sons, in others the same person as Daikoku god of wealth.
