This page has links to encyclopedia entries and topic page articles in the library's online reference collection, Credo Reference. If you can't find what you're looking for on this page, try a search below.
From Dictionary of World Philosophy Chinese term used in more than one sense. The first is as knowledge. Various characterizations of this notion were formulated through the ages. Sometimes, chih was understood, on the one hand, as the ability to know, and, on the other hand, as actual knowledge, which was identified with wisdom.
From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Chinese philosophical terms important in Confucianism, meaning ‘loyalty’ or ‘commitment’, and ‘consideration’ or ‘reciprocity’, respectively.
Moral and religious system of China. Its origins go back to the Analects (see Chinese literature), the sayings attributed to Confucius, and to ancient commentaries, including that of Mencius.
From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Chinese philosophical term generally agreed to be derived from ‘sheng’ (life, growth), and usually translated as ‘nature’.
From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Chinese philosophical term, important in Confucianism, variously translated as ‘kindness’, ‘humanity’, or ‘benevolence’.
From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Confucianism as revived in China during the late tenth to mid-seventeenth centuries. It has also been called Tao-hsüeh(learning of the Way) or Li-hsüeh (learning of principles) in the broader sense.
From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Chinese term probably with an earlier meaning of ‘sense of honor’, subsequently used to refer to the fitting or right way of conducting oneself (when so used, it is often translated as ‘rightness’ or ‘duty’), as well as to a commitment to doing what is fitting or right.
Moral and religious system of China. Its origins go back to the Analects (see Chinese literature), the sayings attributed to Confucius, and to ancient commentaries, including that of Mencius.
From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Chinese thinker and philosophical adversary of Mencius (4th century B.C.). He is referred to in the Meng Tzu (Book of Mencius).
Chinese Confucian philosopher. The principal source for Mencius' life is his own writings. He was born in the ancient state of Ch'ao, in modern Shandong province.
From Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers Mou responded to the challenge of Western positivism with a synthesis of idealist neo-Confucian philosophy and German idealism, particularly that of Kant and Hegel.
From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Chinese scholar and official whose idealistic interpretation of Neo-Confucianism influenced philosophical thinking in East Asia for centuries.
From Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers Xiong was one of the most powerful and original Chinese metaphysical thinkers of this century. After early republican revolutionary activity, he turned to scholarship, studying Consciousness Only Buddhism with Ouyang Jianwu.
