Nursing/Health Sciences: Reference Books

This classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.

Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year", The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice.

Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.

A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.

This fully updated third edition of this award-winning title covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment

The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics.

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care is a state-of-the-art resource featuring nearly 300 articles. Topics include acute and chronic disease, home care including family-based care provisions, nursing home care, rehabilitation, health promotion, disease prevention, education, case management, social services, assisted living, advance directives, palliative care, and much more.

This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders.

Epilepsy A-Z is a unique compendium that provides a "bullet" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference

The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more.

The Gale Encyclopedia Of Senior Health: A Guide For Seniors And Their Caregivers presents authoritative, comprehensive information on all aspects of senior health.

Experts from around the globe have been selected to present interdisciplinary coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more. Entries are conveniently organized into subcategories in order to provide the most in-depth coverage of each subject.

The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.

This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.

Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.

Dr. Susan Loves Breast Book has long been the bible for the newly diagnosed. In this completely revised fifth edition, it also becomes a guide for those at risk of getting breast cancer, survivors interested in the consequences of their treatment, and anyone who wants to understand the new research about how the local environment influences the manifestations and treatments of many different kinds of breast cancer.

A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.

A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.

A well-known reference guide, Barron's Dictionary of Medical Terms has been valued, used, and highly praised by medical instructors, student nurses, and others in the healthcare professions.

A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.

An invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options. Packed with information about diseases, treatments, and medicines. Includes appendices on vitamins and frequently used anatomical terms. Draws information from dozens of medical specialists ranging from pediatrics to pathology.

Ask the Doctor questions answered by Harvard Medical School faculty members.

Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.

Single-topic, in-depth reports from Harvard Medical School.

In-depth descriptions of the most common diseases, symptoms, procedures, and tests written by Harvard Medical School faculty members.

Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

Key Concepts in Health Studies provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners.

Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.

A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.